Mother’s Day

So, there is a tradition in my family, kept since before I can even remember writing… every Mother’s Day my brother and I have written for our mom a list of reasons why we are glad that she is our mother. It might seem like a silly thing to do, but year after year my mom gets at least one physical piece of evidence that we care. This year, I am breaking the tradition a little bit in that I have turned my list into a poem and am posting it here for more than just my mom to see. (I apologize for the spacing, but formatting poetry in WordPress is a bit screwy.)

“Glad”
(to my mother)

I’m glad you’re my mom because…

you brew coffee when I come home

from school, then sit down

to hear my latest poem.

I’m glad you’re my mom because…

dad can’t cook (though I love him)

& you bake me countless

cookies on a whim.

I’m glad you’re my mom because…

you still eat with me pickled herring,*

always – no matter what

I am wearing.

I’m glad you’re my mom because…

you bought for me a copy of Watchmen

& don’t watch just one Farscape

with me – you watch ten.

I’m glad you’re my mom because…

you raised me from when I was wee

into a man sharing affinity

for all kinds of tea.

I’m glad you’re my mom because…

you take time to send me e-mails

about oddities like Saint Urho

now & again without fail.

I’m glad you’re my mom because…

you, at times, take care of my laundry

when you see my laziness has

found no boundary.

I’m glad you’re my mom because…

as I grow my hair to greater lengths

your mother’s love for me

never sinks.

I’m glad you’re my mom because…

your honesty is inspiring

& your open heart

never tiring.

I’m glad you’re my mom because…

glad isn’t enough for all you’ve done,

& all the tears you’ve shed

for me your son.

*Okay. That is one is untrue… but I suspect that if she did, she would do it no matter my choice of attire. And for that I am glad.

2 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. MT says:

    So glad, so proud, so much love for you!

  2. nylle says:

    A really entertaining piece… and so sweet. Your mom’s lucky to have a son like you. :)

Leave a Reply

