Rebirth. (& still just as nerdy)

My computer has emerged from Vault 101 and is, once again, experiencing the post-apocalyptic light of day. This, with a sort of literary twist. I have re(&unreligiously)-christened her “Solveig” thus culminating my nerddom with a cherry of literary reference (yes, my computer is a she). I hope the name makes her as devoted to not crashing as her namesake was in devotion to Peer.  Now, further topping the Fallout/Ibsen/&religion references of my post: a joke.

“Molecules have mass? I didn’t even know they were catholic.”
– Butler Wadsworth

I only partially apologize for the nonsensical nature of my musings upon having a computer again. I’ve spent the past few days getting it all set up – bigger & better than before. Actually, my computer’s not changed size, but… it’s definitely better. Classes have also started (today): American History and Nature, /&/ Statistics 100. And now, to close my post & get back to some homework: a quote from my first reading. Guess from which class I am drawing this.

“Children, only animals live entirely in the Here and Now. Only nature knows neither memory nor history. But man-let me offer you a definition-is the storytelling animal. Wherever he goes he wants to leave behind not a chaotic wake, not an empty space, but the comforting marker-buoys and trail-signs of stories. He has to go on telling stories. He has to keep on making them up. As long as there’s a story, it’s all right. Even in his last moments, it’s said, in the split second of a fatal fall-or when he’s about to drown-he sees, passing rapidly before him, the story of his whole life.”
-Graham Swift, Waterland

Children, only animals live entirely in the Here and Now. Only nature knows ncither
memory nor history. But man-let me offer you a definition-is the storytelling
animal. Wherever he goes he wants to leavc behind not achaotic d e , not
an empty space, but thc comforting marker-buoys and trail-signs of stories. He
hac ro go on telling stories. He has to keep on making them up. As long u there’s
a story, it’s all right. Even in his last moments, it’s said, in the split second of a
fatal fall-or when he’s about to drown-he sees. passing rapidly before him, the
story of his whole life.
-Graham Swift, Watedand
One Response to Rebirth. (& still just as nerdy)

  1. Samijane613 says:

    That sounds like the most interesting statistics class ever.

Leave a Reply

