Let’s celebrate freedom. It’s a holiday.

I woke up today, biked to work, and discovered I had the day off. Either no one told me, or I was simply oblivious to the holiday. I figure the latter. But that’s neither here nor there. What matters is that I was faced with a day off. What to do, what to do. Better yet, what not to do. At my disposal I had my bike and an already packed activity satchel (you know, for when I’m doing activities). So I hopped on my bike and rode to adventure. At first I had no direction. The way I figured, the day lay ahead of me in all directions. Everywhere is somewhere significant to someone. I couldn’t miss in this holistic hide-and-seek for my daily dose of significance. Notebook and camera ready, I found some.

Overheard in a coffee shop:
“You can tell these kids’ lives from the way they dress. That young man’s friends are probably all dope dealers and in jail.”

On the streets, I spy:

5 Responses to Let’s celebrate freedom. It’s a holiday.

  1. s. says:

    “Either no one told me, or I was simply oblivious to the holiday.”

    hahaha, we totally talked about that last week. but that was on army man night, so it’s understandable that you have no recollection of it.

  2. Pat says:

    Excellent use of a day off… and really you can’t let an already packed activity satchel just go to waste. I had yesterday off, but mainly ran errands. I made photos today for work, but nothing of too much excitement. I have tomorrow off, but the 100+ degree heat may keep me from exploring/wandering on the bike. We’ll see. Good stuff bro.

  3. Shanza says:

    Okay so my phone just randomly broke and I don’t have your number so I tried creeping you on fb but I can’t figure it out on my friend’s itouch so I googles you instead (creepy) and found this so I hope you check this soon. I will creep my way to your apartment soon so if youre home I’ll see you if not I’m sorry for my phone going nuts. Also this post was great. Can’t wait to explore

  4. “Everywhere is somewhere significant to someone.”

    Well played, sir.

  5. Jessica says:

    Thanks for taking a look at my stuff! For the images, I use the site Gettyimages (http://www.gettyimages.com/) so I can be sure they are royalty-free. I just found lots of photos of flying machines and picked my favorites…

Leave a Reply

