Precious Roy.

Here’s a story for all you girls and boys. Bear in mind: it’s a little stream-of-consciousness–y.

I rode my bike to work in the morning – the chain fell off.
I rode my bike to class – the chain fell off.
I rode my bike home for lunch – the chain got stuck.
I rode my bike to class again – the chain held?
I rode my bike home – after fiddling for half an hour (five minutes) when my chain stuck immediately upon setting myself upon the seat and peddling not one damned rotation of the tires.
… After that last bout of fussing and cussing, I said to myself: “Bike, what am I going to do with you?”
So, I decided to name it. This took me no more than a mere shake of a goat’s tail: Precious Roy. Why Precious Roy, you wonder? What could that possibly mean? This is what I mean. Precious Roy is a sock puppet who likes to sell faulty products to make suckers out of all the girls and boys. Though I’ve only had this bike for a mere week, I’ve already built up quite an affection for it. My old bike never even got a name after years of ownership. Apparently I only love things that are difficult and try to spite me at every turn (literally, though, because every time I try to turn the wheels I am inevitably spited).
Here’s a story for all you girls and boys. Bear in mind: it’s a little stream-of-consciousness–y.
I rode my bike to work in the morning – the chain fell off.
I rode my bike to class – the chain fell off.
I rode my bike home for lunch – the chain got stuck.
I rode my bike to class again – the chain held?
I rode my bike home – after fiddling for half an hour (five minutes) when my chain stuck immediately upon setting myself upon the seat and peddling not one damned rotation of the tires.
… After that last bout of fussing and cussing, I said to myself: “Bike, what am I going to do with you?”
So, I decided to name it. This took me no more than a mere shake of a goat’s tail: Precious Roy. Why Precious Roy, you wonder? What could that possibly mean? This is what I mean. Precious Roy is a sock puppet who likes to sell faulty products to make suckers out of all the girls and boys. Though I’ve only had this bike for a mere week, I’ve already built up quite an affection for it. My old bike never even got a name after years of ownership. Apparently I only love things that are difficult and try to spite me at every turn (literally, though, because every time I try to turn the wheels I am inevitably spited).
Notice the quality craftsmanship -- the seat, the handlebars. Hey, gets me from A to B. And at least in a much more entertaining fashion than my old bike.

Notice the quality craftsmanship -- the seat, the handlebars. Hey, gets me from A to B. And at least in a much more entertaining fashion than my old bike.

2 Responses to Precious Roy.

  1. MT says:

    Speaking of Precious Roy (the sock puppet), your other grandpa built a squirrel zapper for his bird feeder. Grandma was a bit appalled, but giggled nervously.

  2. Garrett Traylor says:

    Ha! Yeah, there are many Precious Roy clips… but I chose that one for a reason.

Leave a Reply

