In Dreams (Part 2).

Here’s the latest installment from my Dream Journal (actually clocked in from February 13th, but the latest that I’ll be sharing).  This is probably the most accurate account of a dream I’ve managed so far.  I even gave it a title (because it’s that epic).  So worth the trouble of concentrating in the morning…

“Life on the Road: The Adventures of Business Cop”

I’d just been hired on as an assistant to this questionable dude who drove around in truck (from here on out I will refer to him as Business Cop, the most accurate guess I can muster up about his profession).  Largely the details of my position were unclear, just that I was supposed to follow him around on errands.  We’d been driving around for a while when Business Cop saw a homeless man [from here on out I will refer to him as Homeless Man] wheeling a suitcase in tow, stopped, and asked Homeless Man if he would like to join us, which he did.  Apparently Business Cop and Homeless Man were old friends.  Then we made a stop at a random McDonald’s on one of our errands.  The manager came out to talk to Business Cop, giving us a speech about how he was thinking about expanding the chain, that it had been a big hit here in Sweden (apparently this dream took place here in Sweden).  He was even thinking about making commercials.  He seemed so excited, in fact, that he gave Homeless Man a free sandwich.  Homeless Man took a bite then asked me to hold on to the rest for a while, telling me, “Don’t eat it.  Just hold it,” then walking off, still dragging his suitcase.  In the meantime, Business Cop had started inspecting the McDonald’s silverware (which was actually real metal of some sort, notably not plastic).  He found one with a particularly interesting design and started to explain to the manager how he (Business Cop) thought the design was just that: “particularly interesting,” and that he “had to have it,” asking the manager if he could “please keep the spoon — as a souvenir.”  The manager seemed enthusiastic about the idea, although Business Cop refused to let this rest with a simple “yes,” forcing the manager to give repeated assurances that, yes, this (taking the spoon) was an okay thing to do.  The manager insisted, yes, take the spoon, that with the upcoming expansion he’d just be reeling in the new silverware and that, if he cared about every spoon that walked out of his McDonald’s then he “wouldn’t be the man he is today.”  As we made our way to leave, Business Cop made a rather awkward announcement to the manager, telling him, “You should tell your mother I’m a cop.”  Then we walked out, Business Cop completely enthralled with his spoon.  When we got outside, Homeless Man was waiting in the parking lot, rummaging through his suitcase.  He asked me for his sandwich back.  I gave it to him and he stuffed it into his suitcase, then walked off in a huff.  I think Business Cop and I were about to go off on another errand, but I woke up.

Listening to: Stiff Jazz, dZihan and Kamien

2 Responses to In Dreams (Part 2).

  1. kaistevenson says:

    Ya know… for this being your dream and all… you sure didn’t do much.
    Bizarre stuff, my friend. Very bizarre.

    And, good choice of music. I’ve got some things you should check out. Rare cds, so I’m not sure what the best way to get the music to you is…

Leave a Reply

